ChannelEngine: why am I logged out after 15 minutes of inactivity?
About this guide
This is a guide on why you are logged out of your ChannelEngine environment after 15 minutes of inactivity.
Why am I logged out after 15 minutes of inactivity?
Starting in September 2020, the auto-expire time of your access session to ChannelEngine has been reduced from 24 hours to 15 minutes. This means that if you have not been active in your ChannelEngine account (no clicks or other interaction) for 15 minutes, you will automatically be logged out. Refreshing the screen or clicking anywhere after this period has expired will prompt a new login (including 2FA verification code if enabled).
While we fully understand that re-authorizing often can be annoying if you work a lot with the ChannelEngine web interface, there are several reasons why we made this change:
- This timeout is more in line with industry standards.
- The sensitivity of the data available via ChannelEngine requires a stricter security policy.
- We have frequent security scans performed on our platform and the old session time of 24 hours was flagged as high risk (for session-based attacks).
- This is a technical requirement for some of our corporate clients.
We will be looking into ways for making this more user-friendly (like adding a popup warning the user that a session expiration is imminent, for example) in the future.
Article is closed for comments.